Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo wins NL Manager of Year

Dave Roberts Finishes Second for National League Manager of the Year

Christian Petersen Getty Images

Twins manager Paul Molitor and Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo have been voted Manager of the Year in their respective leagues, the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced Tuesday.

Hired by Arizona following a 69-93 season under Chip Hale in 2016, Lovullo led the team to a 93-69 record and the first NL wild card in his first season on the bench. Roberts was one of five managers to receive first-place votes this year - Lovullo (18 first-place votes), Roberts (five), Black (three), Milwaukee's Craig Counsell (three) and Washington's Dusty Baker (one). There was no sure-thing like when Aaron Judge and Cody Bellinger won the Rookie of the Year awards. Colorado Rockies manager Bud Black finished third.

Hinch navigated the Astros to a 101-61 record and their first-ever World Series title in his third season at the helm. The Cleveland Indians' Terry Francona, the 2016 victor, was the runner-up with 11 first-place votes. The Twins entered the season with paltry expectations and were sellers at the trade deadline, yet played well down the stretch to earn the AL's second Wild Card spot.

Rapper-Actress Eve Officially Joins The Talk as Co-Host
Eve joins a panel of co-hosts that includes Julie Chen , Sara Gilbert , Sharon Osbourne and Sheryl Underwood . She made her official debut Tuesday, after appearing as guest co-host during the week of October 13.

Molitor's victory was closer than that of the National League, as he received 18 first-place votes in comparison to the 11 that Cleveland Indianas skipper Terry Francona received.

"An award like this, it's certainly a reflection of the organization [and] the work my coaches and players put in", Molitor said on MLB Network. He joins Bob Melvin (2007) and Kirk Gibson (2011) as the only Arizona managers to win the award.

Paul Molitor of the Minnesota Twins was named Lovullo's counterpart as the American League Manager of the Year.

Latest News