AP Player of the Year finalists: Mayfield, Love, Jackson

Sooners' Awards Tour Begins in Atlanta

Paul Hornung Award names Saquon Barkley its 2017 winner

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield is the victor of the 2017 Davey O'Brien Award, given out on Thursday at the College Football Awards Show at the College Football Hall of Fame. Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, the other finalist and last year's Heisman Trophy victor, was third in the award announced Thursday.

Mayfield, Love and Jackson are also the finalists for the Heisman, which will be handed out Saturday night in NY.

The Bednarik Award, which is given to the best defensive player in college football, was won by Alabama defensive back Minkah Fitzpatrick.

Mayfield passed for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns to lead the Sooners (12-1) to the No. 2 national ranking and into the College Football Playoff. Love (83 points) and Jackson (39 points) each received two first-place votes and Penn State running Saquon Barkley received a first-place vote and came in fourth.

Named the AP Player of the Year earlier Thursday, Mayfield leads the nation in completion percentage (.710), passing efficiency rating (203.8; would break his own FBS record of 196.4 set last year), yards per pass attempt (11.8), yards per completion (16.6) and pass of plays of 20-plus yards (75). Jason White won in back-to-back years in 2003 and 2004, while Sam Bradford earned the title in 2008. Stanford's only AP player of the year was Christian McCaffrey in 2015, one of five players to be AP player of the year but not win the Heisman. "Obviously I'm very happy and thankful that I'm being recognized with this".

News Anchor Responds To Viewer's Racist Email
Reed said the show gets social media comments all the time and she responded fairly off the cuff. Within minutes of receiving the racist note, Reed read Rae's email live on-air.

The Big 12 enjoyed a solid awards night, as Oklahoma State's James Washington won the Biletnikoff Award that is given to the nation's top wide receiver and Texas' Michael Dickson won the Ray Guy Award (nation's top punter). He's also rushed for 310 yards and five touchdowns.

Some of the nation's top college football players were honored Thursday night, as the Home Depot College Football Awards ceremony was held at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

In addition, Mayfield, Andrews, junior offensive lineman Orlando Brown and senior linebacker Ogbonnia Okoronkwo were all named first team All-Americans by the Walter Camp Foundation, which was unveiled during the show.

The award "honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics". He is also a finalist for the Manning Award.

Latest News