Oregon's Sabrina Ionescu among 25 on midseason Wooden Award list

Sabrina Ionescu has helped Oregon to a 4-0 start to conference play during her sophomore season

Sabrina Ionescu has helped Oregon to a 4-0 start to conference play during her sophomore season

The Los Angeles Athletic Club on Thursday announced the midseason watch list for the 2017-18 Wooden Award as the National Player of the Year. He also is among league leaders in minutes played (fifth), field goal percentage (seventh) and free throw percentage (10th).

Players must have a 2.0 grade-point average to be considered. Previous winners include Larry Bird (1979), Michael Jordan (1984) and Tim Duncan (1997).

The Wooden Award for women's basketball was first given for the 2003-04 season. The three other Big 12 players are Devonte' Graham of Kansas, Jevon Carter of West Virginia and Mohamed Bomba of Texas.

The Sooner superman leads the nation in scoring (29.2) and assists (10.2).

Bridges was named the Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year and was a unanimous selection to the preseason All-Big Ten team.

Storm anticipated to deliver heavy rain and snow to Northern California
Because of this change in weather, the National Weather Service has also declared a winter weather advisory beginning at 7 p.m. New ice accumulation tonight could be less than a tenth of an inch in the Sunbury area tonight, the agency added.

Collier, who has started all 14 games for the Huskies, is second on the squad in points per game (15.5), blocks (28) and steals (23). He ranks in the top-10 of Oklahoma freshman season totals, including assists, three-pointers and points.

Young has been the breakout star of the college basketball season.

Carter is averaging 20.8 points and 5.2 assists for the Aggies. In the 41-year history of the award, a Duke player has won the honor five times, which is the most among all schools.

Landale was also this week named Hero Sports' Mid-Major Mid-season Player of the Year, and this latest recognition is unlikely to be the last this season. Voters are permitted to take into consideration the opening rounds of the NCAA Tournament when casting the ballot.

Latest News