Kumar Vishwas: I have been punished for speaking truth

Sushil Gupta AAP RS nomination

Elections to three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi would be held on January 16

The ruling AAP on Wednesday declared three Rajya Sabha nominees from Delhi, leading to corruption charges in the choice of the candidates, one of them a businessman who was with the Congress until recently.

The AAP nominated Sanjay Singh, Sushil Gupta and ND Gupta to the three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi.

Delhi deputy chief minister Manish Sisodia hailed Gupta as a social worker while announcing the names of the AAP's Rajya Sabha nominees at a press conference on Wednesday. The party's highest decision making body, the Political Affairs Committee (PAC), met soon after and formally approved the decision.

AAP leader Kumar Vishwas denied ticket as party nominated outsiders, Dr Sushil Gupta and N.D. Gupta, for RS berths. "Although they want to work for party's ideology but they don't want to land in this mess", said Sisodia.

In the run-up to the announcement, a section of the party was for nominating senior leaders while others felt that experts from various fields should be nominated.

"It is very much possible that Rajya Sabha nominations are also decisions taken like the way taken in a private limited company", Agarwal said.

"I challenge Arvind Kejriwal to undergo narco test".

USA lauds India's biz power, slams terror
And we are working closely with India and our worldwide partners to secure India's membership in the Nuclear Suppliers Group", he said.

"He is a person who attacks the party from every possible public platform". He presented his thanks to the AAP party for his nomination.

Currently, the city-state is being represented by Janardan Dwivedi, Parvez Hashmi, Karan Singh, whose terms end in January next year.

The AAP had a year ago approached former RBI governor Raghuram Rajan in this regard but he declined the offer.

"N.D. Gupta has a reputation in the CA fraternity and I have worked with him in the past", said Jagannadham Thunuguntla, head of research, Karvy Stock Broking. "Now I don't know what to say". The supporters of AAP's rebellious leader Kumar Vishwas have earlier staged a protest to choose him as party representative but the leaders decided otherwise.

Given AAP's strong majority in the Delhi Assembly, it is likely that their candidates will win the Rajya Sabha election.

Polls for the three seats will be held on 16 January while the last day for filing nominations is 5 January.

Latest News