Singapore in lowest risk level on United States travel warning advisory

Any country that receives a ranking of level two or higher is also assigned a corresponding “risk indicator” to inform the traveler why the country may be dangerous

Greece at lowest risk level, says US State Department

The US Department of State has included Azerbaijan in the list of countries with increased security threat after launching improvements, which will provide USA citizens with clear, timely, and reliable safety and security information worldwide.

As per the latest safety ranking system of the United States, Level 1 advises travellers to exercise normal precaution, while Level 4, which has countries like Afghanistan, recommends "Do Not Travel".

India has been placed at Level 2, which pertains to "exercising increased caution".

This is the lowest advisory level for safety and security risk.

China, India, Indonesia, Philippines, Nepal, Bangladesh, United Kingdom, Brazil, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico and Saudi Arabia are among the nations classified under Level Two of the advisory travel programme.

The U.S. also issued "exercise increased caution" advisory for its citizens travelling to India. "In the past, there have been large-scale terrorist attacks resulting in hundreds of casualties", highlighted the federal executive department.

Follow US Department of State on Twitter.

But Cuba is ranked only level three, "Reconsider Travel".

India gets tough, says talks and terror don't go together
The meeting took place days after the visit to Pakistan by the kin of Indian national Kulbhushan Jadhav . This understanding was reiterated during the Modi-Sharif meeting in Lahore on December 25, 2015.

Moving forward, every country will be given a level ranging from one, being almost no risk; to level four, a do not travel warning. The states mentioned include "eastern Maharashtra and northern Telangana through western West Bengal" as well as " rural parts of Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand and. the borders of Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, and Odisha".

The travel advisory further points out high-risk areas in the country that citizens should avoid.

It ranks countries into four security tiers based on a number of factors, including the risk of crime, terrorism, natural disaster, and civil unrest.

Besides Malaysia, Canada and Australia, other countries in the same category include Brunei, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan and South Korea, Kazakhstan, and New Zealand.

There will still be travel alerts in case of demonstrations, hurricanes or terrorist incidents, for example.

The advisory further states that travel by USA government personnel within Pakistan is restricted, and additional restrictions on movements by U.S. government personnel outside of U.S. diplomatic facilities may be put in place at any time, depending on local circumstances and security conditions.

US citizens are not banned from traveling to level 4 countries.

Latest News