India record 100-run victory over Australia

Afghanistan defeated Pakistan by five wickets in their ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup opener on Saturday

Afghanistan defeated Pakistan by five wickets in their ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup opener on Saturday

India made a winning start to their 2018 Under-19 World Cup campaign in New Zealand, ticking most of the boxes in their 100-run win against Australia at Mount Maunganui on Sunday.

The seriousness of their pace wasn't lost on anyone but former India opener Virender Sehwag in particular looked impressed as he took to Twitter to congratulate the team following the win. The tense was similar to what it would have been between the senior teams of India and Australia playing the 50-over World Cup.

Abhishek Sharma and Anukul Roy scalped a victim each.

Australia were troubled by the pace of the Indian bowlers and then the spinners choked them with asking rate creeping up on a constant basis.

Riding on a record 180-run opening stand between Indian skipper Prithvi Shaw and fellow opener Manjot Kalra, India went on to post 328 for the loss of seven wickets.

Saints vs. Vikings: Preview, score prediction for Divisional Round
Case Keenum filled in and has been one of the NFC's biggest surprises, throwing for 22 touchdowns and seven interceptions. We love how the one kid corrects the other on Teddy Bridgewater being back, noting that he's "still not playing".

It was a six from Shaw which opened the floodgates for India.

There was no respite for the Australian bowlers even after departure of Shaw and Kalra with Shubhman Gill tormenting the bowlers with his 63-run knock.

Shaw's performance against Australia with the bat gives the cricket fans an indication of whats yet to come as the skipper slammed eight fours and two sixes while facing only 100 balls in his brilliant knock.

The middle-order batsmen fell cheaply as they couldn't add much after the top-order batsmen's dismissals.

Jack Edwards grabbed four wickets for Australia while Param Uppal, Will Sutherland and Austin Waugh dismissed one Indian batsman each.

Latest News