You can now see when your friends were last active on Instagram

Comment icon









Kim Kardashian takes a selfie
Credit
Instag

Comment icon Kim Kardashian takes a selfie Credit Instag

But Instagram has now chose to follow in the footsteps of Facebook, WhatsApp and Messenger by adding a feature that tells friends when you were last online checking out some flawlessly filtered salads.

Business Insider UK reports that a new Instagram feature allows friends to know when you were last online - not unlike Facebook Messenger. One's followers can not see when they were last active on Instagram. Then, just scroll down until you see "Show Activity Status" and toggle this option off.

It's worth noting that once you turn off your own activity status you won't be able to see anyone else's either, but this seems like a fair trade off to us. Luckily, if you're not a fan, there is a way to disable the feature. To enhance the experience and make it easier for users to see who is following them, Instagram added a new indicator that makes things clearer. It can be accessed by going into the Instagram Direct messages section of the app.

The activity tracking can be turned off relatively easily in "settings".

Separately, the Facebook-owned platform is also reportedly testing a new "Type" feature.

Though active by default, this feature is not a major privacy risk like the SnapMap feature in SnapChat, but can be annoying and may affect your social life if you do not reply to your friends messages.

Pakistan, US clash over Afghanistan at UN
Pakistan's "mindset" that unleashes terrorist attacks on India and Afghanistan must change, India has told the Security Council . Under a new strategy announced previous year by U.S.

Facebook acquired WhatsApp and Instagram both have the same Activity Status feature.

Now, for those who don't want that information up, there is a way to disable that feature. Instagram now notifies users of a screenshot only if the image or video is sent on Instagram Direct.

Instagram has introduced a new feature that shows when you were last online, and not everyone is here for it.

How do you turn it off?

"This has been live on Android for a while but we rolled it out to iOS users in December", an Instagram representative said, according to Business Insider.

Latest News