'Nigeria can win 2018 FIFA World Cup'

President Buhari receives FIFA World Cup trophy in Abuja- NGscoop

PHOTOS: FIFA World Cup Trophy Tour Hits Aso Rock

On ground to receive the coveted Trophy at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja, was the Hon Minister of Sports and Youth Development, Solomon Dalung, President of the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF), other key officials of the NFF, representatives of Coca-Cola, cultural troupes and many football loving members of the public.

President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday received the FIFA World Cup Trophy ahead of the 2018 Football World Cup in June.

"I feel honoured to be in your country (Nigeria); you have a rich footballing culture and I am happy the country will be at the world cup in Russian Federation".

The Trophy left Kampala, Uganda, and flew into Abuja as part of a global tour plan of 91 cities in 51 countries. The President is the only personality in Nigeria authorized to touch the Trophy. "I am very excited", said Josephine Udochi, a female soccer fan who drove 100 kilometers to the venue.

Salman Khan's Bajrangi Bhaijaan enters the Rs 100 crore club in China
And now it will be interesting to see if Salman succeeds in derailing Aamir's Dangal at the Box Office in China . Though Salman Khan is nowhere near the opening weekend record of Secret Superstar which was close to 175 crores.

Former France and Real Madrid star Christian Karembeu is confident that the Super Eagles team is capable of doing great things at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russian Federation.

Ibrahim Musa, another soccer fan, said he was even more delighted to have taken a picture with the trophy.

"Who knows in few years, we may be hosting the World Cup here".

While felicitating with the entire Nigerian football family, which is already buzzing with excitement and happiness, he expressed the company's delight to have this unique opportunity to connect with the consumers through their passion point and make them happy with the World Cup Trophy Tour experience. Africa will be represented by Nigeria, Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, and Egypt.

Latest News