BJP fields 18 candidates for RS polls

Narayan Rane will file his nomination papers on Monday

MIM to support TRS in RS polls

Former Union Minister Naranbhai Rathwa, who represented Chhota Udaipur Lok Sabha constituency in Gujarat for the five terms, was nominated along with Congress leader and prominent lawyer Amee Yajnik from Gujarat. Mansukh Mandavia, minister of state for road transport and highways, and shipping, chemicals and fertilizers; and Parshottam Rupala, minister of state for panchayati raj, agriculture and farmers welfare filed their nominations for the Rajya Sabha on Monday.

The BJP and the Congress have announced lists of 18 and 12 candidates respectively for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections from Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Gujarat, Bihar, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan.

Two BJP leaders Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni will be trying their luck for Upper House from Madhya Pradesh.

Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) candidates Manoj Jha and Ashfaque Karim were the first to file their nominations.

In Uttar Pradesh, it could be a tight-rope walk for BSP's Bhimrao Ambedkar, who was hoping for a smooth sailing to the Rajya Sabha with support of the Samajwadi Party and Congress. Three nominated members - actor Rekha, cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and social worker Anu Aga - will also retire then.

Elections to four Rajya Sabha seats from the State are scheduled on Mar.23. Consequently, Congress has named L. Hanumanthaiah, Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrashekhar.

ICE Spokesman Resigns Because He Doesn't Want to Keep Lying
From the agent's observation, ICE officials are more likely to believe that immigrants don't deserve any rights. Homan further said they were removing people who had committed egregious crimes.

After scrutiny of papers on Tuesday, all the six candidates are likely to be declared elected unopposed.

Congress's candidate and senior journalist, Kumar Ketkar, has also filed his nomination on Monday.

The Sena has 63 MLAs, but the Congress does not expect to receive its surplus votes despite the smaller partner's anger at the BJP.

The Congress has 123 members, including Speaker, BJP - 43, JD (S) - 37, Badavara Shramikarra Raithara Paksha - 3, Karnataka Janata Paksha - 2, Karnataka Makkala Paksha - 1, Independents - 8, and nominated - 1.

The party think tank thought it can request the MIM, which has seven MLAs, to support the Congress nominee, besides the remaining two TDP MLAs. "According to me, the ministers in coastal Karnataka - Ramanath Rai and UT Khader - are no less than any terrorist", he had said at the BJP Law and Parliamentary Affairs meeting.

"As many as 11 BJP candidates and an independent filed their nomination papers today".

Latest News