BJP Leads in Araria & Bhabhua

Araria By Election Results 2018 All You Need To Know

The Araria by-poll result is seen as a test for Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and RJD's Tejashwi Yadav

Here, BJP's Rinki Pandey is ahead of Congress' Shambhu Singh Patel.

RJD leading in Jehanabad after 10th round of counting with 29,551 votes. In the Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies in Bihar, where bypolls were also held, the voter turnout was 54.03 per cent and 50.06 per cent respectively, Bihar's Chief Electoral Officer Ajay V Nayak said.

The Bhabhua seat was held by the BJP. BJP is also leading from the assembly seat of Bhabhau. Stakes are high for RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, who spearheaded the poll campaign for the party in absence of his father Lalu Prasad Yadav, who is behind bars in connection with two fodder scam cases. The party is now leading in both the constituencies.

After trailing initially, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) moved ahead of the Bharatiya Janata Party in Araria.

Finance Bill passed in Lok Sabha amid protest by Opposition
Sonia will host a dinner for opposition parties to cobble together an anti-BJP alliance for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Earlier this week, the BJP had issued a three-day whip to its members to be present in the House.

Security across the Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituencies in Uttar Pradesh have been tightened as counting of votes is under way.

According to TV reports, BJP candidate Rinki Pandey is leading by a margin of over 1,000 votes from Bhabhua, the seat which last represented by her deceased husband. Though the final result will be announced by today afternoon, trends and leads will start coming by 08:30 am when the first round of counting is expected to end. Numerically, these bypolls might be of less significance, but it is being termed as a litmus test for Bihar's chief minister Nitish Kumar as the people have voted for the first time after the CM pulled out of RJD-Congress alliance and formed a new government with the support of BJP-led NDA.

The Lalu Prasad Yadav-led RJD was on the defending turf in two of the three constituencies.

In Jehanabad, the RJD hopes to retain the Assembly seat that fell vacant after the death of Mundrika Yadav.

Latest News