BJP Suffers Body Blow In UP By-Poll, Loses Yogi Adityanath's Gorakhpur

Counting is also going on for two Assembly seats – Bhabua and Jehanabad from Bihar

Counting is also going on for two Assembly seats – Bhabua and Jehanabad from Bihar

After Bhartiya Janata Party's defeat in by-elections for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur parliament seats, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath on Wednesday acknowledged party's defeat by saying that BJP has "paid for its overconfidence".

From Phulpur the BJP had pitted Kaushalendra Singh Patel and Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur against the SP's Pravin Nishad and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel respectively.

Though the Opposition may assert that it is a victory of its alliance formula, with BSP supporting and canvassing for Samajwadi Party candidates in Phulpur and Gorakhpur, BJP sources point out the defeat of the party candidates was a personal veto against Keshav P Maurya in Phulpur and Yogi in Gorakhpur.

Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) won the Lok Sabha constituency of Araria by 61,988 votes, winning 5,09,334 votes, while BJP received 4,47,346 votes. Did Congress hope to provide some nuisance value to SP and BSP, so that it could bargain hard for more Lok Sabha seats in 2019?

The party also said people across the country, angered by the BJP's "arrogance and misrule", were "showing it the door", as was amply proved by the by-election results in the states.

In Bihar, with the opposition RJD-Congress alliance defeating the ruling BJP-JD (U) alliance in two out of three seats, the result is being seen as pointing out the general mood in the state, since this is the first electoral battle in the state after chief minister Nitish Kumar, JD (U) chief, walked out of the alliance with the RJD and the Congress and joined the BJP-led NDA past year. "And they would teach a fitting lesson to the BJP in the assembly elections", he warned.

Low voter turnout was recorded at both the constituencies.

American Idol contestant kissed by Katy Perry said it made him 'uncomfortable'
So far, Perry hasn't responded to the backlash, but she did reference the moment in GIF form. Perry then called him to the judges table and asked for two kisses on the cheek.

NDTV-news channel has reported that the BJP citadel of Gorakhpur has been demolished and in addition, it also lost the Phullpur seat.

In 2014, BJP and its ally Apna Dal had won 73 of 80 Lok Sabha seats and 325 out of 403 seats in the 2017 assembly elections.

The statistics contradict Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath who had a few months back claimed that not a single riot had taken place in the state after he came to power. Nevertheless, these bypoll results will hearten opposition parties to make a fight of it against the dominant BJP in upcoming state and national elections.

Sharad Yadav said even "a partial unity" among opposition parties was enough to defeat the BJP. With the win in two Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh, SP's tally has gone up to seven from five in 2014. The BJP has been defeated in both. Congratulations to SP & BSP for this historic victory.

The BJP was defeated by the Tejashwi Yadav-led RJD in Bihar's Araria Lok Sabha constituency.

Samajwadi Party leader Naresh Uttam has written to the State Election Officer complaining that people and media were removed from the counting centre in Gorakhpur, where SP candidate Praveen Nishad is leading by over 26,446 votes in Gorakhpur over BJP at the end of 21st round of counting.

Latest News