Drama over Naran Rathwa's Rajya Sabha nomination ends with acceptance

Rajya Sabha polls Rajiv Shukla not Naranbhai Rathwa to file nomination from Gujarat

Rajya Sabha polls: Rajiv Shukla, not Naranbhai Rathwa, to file nomination from Gujarat

The BJP did try to avoid a backlash this time by announcing Mr Chandrashekar's name just 12 hours before filing of nominations for the RS poll, but the strategy doesn't seem to have worked.

BJP, which has enough numbers to elect only eight candidates to Rajya Sabha from Uttar Pradesh, fielded its ninth candidate - Anil Agarwal, who is chairman of HRIT Group of Institutes in Ghaziabad, making the task hard for BSP candidate Bhim Rao Ambedkar, who was hoping to go to Rajya Sabha with the support of SP and Congress MLAs. These include central ministers Parsottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandaviya as well as Kiritsinh Rana from BJP, Naran Rathwa and Amee Yajnik from Congress, Rajni Patel as dummy candidate as well as Paresh Mulani and Congress leader PK Valera as independents. Amid a last-minute confusion, Congress leader P K Valera also filed nomination as an Independent. The BJP fielded senior leaders, including Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel and Vaghani to ensure the rejection of Rathwa's nomination.

Elections to four Rajya Sabha are scheduled on March 23. My documents according to requirements were submitted.

Pakistan summons Indian Deputy High Commissioner to register protest
In reply, government sources in New Delhi said that Indian deplomats in Islamabad were being regularly tailed and intimidated. The foreign office on Tuesday also summoned Indian deputy high commissioner and registered strong protest over the incidents.

Speaking to Deccan Chronicle, senior BJP leader, C.T. Ravi said Mr. Chandrashekar was a Kannadiga as he was brought up in Karnataka, had studied here and lived in the state for the last 40 years.

In the 182-member assembly, BJP has 99 MLAs and Congress 77 and thus both Congress and the BJP can only send two candidates each to the Upper House. Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats has been necessitated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the Trinamool Congress and Tapan Sen of Communist Party of India-Marxist will end on April 2. But the BJP is "Bahut Jhoothi Party" (big lying party). Asked to comment on BJP's decision to introduce a third candidate, GPCC chief Bharatsinh Solanki said, "BJP believes in horsetrading". Returning officer for the election said, "All the nominations will be scrutinised and cleared by Tuesday afternoon". "The Sena leadership was not ready to give us its additional votes. Earlier also BJP played this lowly game during Ahmed Patel ji's election and now again, but Rathwa ji's nomination is absolutely correct and he will win comfortably", Surjewala said.

Latest News