Phil Mickelson finally apologizes for U.S. Open meltdown

Phil Mickelson shockingly chases, swats moving ball with putter

Phil Mickelson putting meltdown at U.S. Open is epic (Video)

"That's basically his way of saying "that's it", former US Golf Association executive David Fay said.

Several Tour pros have come out and said that Mickelson should have been disqualified for the actions. "It was amusing because I didn't think he hit that bad a chip shot from behind the green in the first place".

Some loved watching the world's best brought to their knees.

I don't mean it [to be] disrespectful.

"It has been on the golf course, players complaining, Phil - you never really want that because it is such a hard thing to win a major".

Those who witnessed it, said that they couldn't believe their eyes.

The U.S. Open is certainly unique, which is a good thing.

He may have breached the spirit of the game, but I thought it was priceless. "He didn't really say much, he just started laughing".

"Oh my goodness, I think I had most improved", Mickelson jokingly said to reporters Sunday (via the New York Daily News), in among his few comments after his round. "Phil knows the rules".

UPDATE: 5:15 p.m.

The American golfer narrowly made the cut to the weekend's action, but on moving day he was only moving one way and that was backwards.

He putted his fifth stroke, sending the ball past the hole to the right. So it's not necessary to move on to (Rule) 1-2. There was a chance it was going to go back behind the bunker and he's got to chip back, or he was going to play off the green anyways, so he was potentially saving himself a shot. Justin Rose is one shot back with Henrik Stenson a further shot adrift. So he intervened, putting the moving ball back toward the cup. He continues to get words of encouragement from fans, including the Florida State Seminole chant-Koepka is a graduate of the school.

England get heroics from Harry Kane captain and leader vs Tunisia
I've not seen the penalty [awarded against England] back but, from my point of view, it didn't look like one. Gareth Southgate had other thoughts and chose to pair Raheem Sterling with Harry Kane up front.

No, this was Mickelson's attempt to be the smartest guy in golf once again. At the 13th hole at Shinnecock Hills, Mickelson had lined up to putt for bogey but sent the ball past the hole.

Playing partner Andrew Johnston called it "a moment of madness". I mean, you want to always use them in your favour.

The five-time major victor was four over par for the day on Saturday when he badly over-hit a putt on the 13th green and, seeing where it was headed, he ran around a struck it again, a breach of rule 14-5 which incurs a two-shot penalty.

However, he prevented that happening by running after the ball and hitting it while it was still rolling, a breach of rule 14-5 which incurs a two-shot penalty. I just finally did. I wasn't going to have a shot. I don't know if it would have saved me a shot or not.

The USGA invoked the rule that delivers a two-stroke penalty for hitting a moving ball, but many wondered why Mickelson wasn't disqualified from the tournament entirely. "I think everyone should be allowed to have a moment". "I took the two-shot penalty and moved on". "Singing happy birthdays, wishing happy birthday".

UPDATE: 12:30 p.m.

It was all smiles for Phil Mickelson on his birthday, amid the weird scenes.

It's the U.S. Open, folks. It's something you might see on your home course with your mates.

Saturday, the total draw to the property should be well above that. Or was it all just to make a statement to the USGA that the course was getting silly? Desperately. More than anything.

"Usually we sell everything well in advance, but NY is a very savvy ticket market and we've seen a lot of sales on-site".

I am also a USGA critic.

Latest News