Premier League stars nominated for FIFPro World XI

FIFA announces nominees for World XI 2018

David De Gea Virgil van Dijk among contenders in FIFPro World XI

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah and Sadio Mane were the only two African nominees.

Almost 25,000 professional footballers from about 65 different countries voted for 55 players to select one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards for the 2018 World XI, FIFA said.

Egypt's Mohamed Salah was revealed by FIFPro, the worldwide players' union, and FIFA as one of 55 players competing for the FIFA FIFPro World11 2018.

Voted by nearly 25,000 professional footballers from 65 different countries and regions, the nominees' list includes ten of last year's World11, along with 11 new faces including Virgil van Dijk and Joshua Kimmich.

Salah was by far Liverpool's top performer during the previous campaign, winning award after award for his efforts.

Popular Mac Adware Blocker Found Sending All Browser History to China
Over the weekend, the saga continued with revelations that several other apps in the Mac App Store were doing the same thing. While users should always be wary of giving home access to apps in macOS , some apps do need access to it to work properly.

Mane, a Senegalese player, has been a regular inclusion for Liverpool in the last season when they reached the final of Champion Leagues and lost to Real Madrid.

Barcelona are kings in Spain, Madrid in Europe, over the last few years, and the two clubs are doing battle again in the FIFPro awards.

Manchester United's David De Gea and Liverpool's Virgil van Dijk are among the contenders in the reckoning to feature in FIFPro and FIFA's World XI. This time around, there was no place for Real Madrid's Gareth Bale, while Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Alexis Sanchez also missed the cut.

The five goalkeepers shortlisted were Gianluigi Buffon, Thibaut Courtois, David de Gea, Keylor Navas and Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Others are Yerry Mina (Colombia/Everton FC/FC Barcelona), Benjamin Pavard (France/VfB Stuttgart), Gerard Pique (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid CF), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Kieran Trippier (England/Tottenham Hotspur), Samuel Umtiti (France/FC Barcelona), Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands/Liverpool FC), Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid CF), Sime Vrsaljko (Croatia/Internazionale/Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (England/Manchester City FC).

Latest News