Modric threatens to end Ronaldo-Messi era as world’s best

       Who should win the Best FIFA award- Luka Modric or Cristiano Ronaldo

3:59 Who should win the Best FIFA award- Luka Modric or Cristiano Ronaldo

The Egyptian has not made it into the FIFPro Team of the Year, however.

The three-man shortlist for the Best FIFA Men's Player Award was announced earlier this month, with last year's victor Cristiano Ronaldo aiming to collect the prize for a record sixth-time after Lionel Messi was omitted for the first time since 2006.

Named after former Ballon d'Or victor Raymond Kopa - who died a year ago - the award will be given to a player under the age of 21 who has lit up world football.

Debate is guaranteed, particularly after Ronaldo's unannounced absence in Monaco for UEFA's award ceremony - when he discovered that he was not the player of the year.

Here, Press Association Sport takes a look at the men in line to collect FIFA's top individual player prize. Mundo Deportivo in Spain are reporting that MESSI will miss out on the ceremony due to family reasons.

They play on Wednesday night.

Bill Cosby to fight ‘sexually violent predator’ tag at sentencing Monday
Defense attorneys would be allowed to cross-examine witnesses, said Kate Delano, spokeswoman for the county prosecutor's officer. O'Neil last week denied the motion, calling it untimely and "wholly without merit", court records show.

However, the main issue people had with the side is the fact that Dani Alves has got in yet again.

France boss Didier Deschamps, Croatia's Zlatko Dalic and former Madrid trainer Zinedine Zidane are up for the title of the Best FIFA Men's Coach, while the finalists for the Best FIFA Goalkeeper are Thibaut Courtois, Hugo Lloris and Kasper Schmeichel.

His World Cup campaign also earned many plaudits, after playing a crucial role in guiding Croatia to their first final and winning the Golden Ball.

Lyon's Norwegian striker Ada Hegerberg and German midfielder Dzsenifer Marozsan are joined by Brazilian five-time victor Marta of Orlando Pride in the running for the best women's player after winning the Champions League with the French giants.

The ceremony kicks off at 7:30pm local time in London (18:30 GMT).

Latest News